Political Science Department


The Department of Political science was introduced in the year 1961 the same year the college was founded. The beginning was with Pass Course, Honours course is being offered from 1985 with 100% success rate.

Salient Features:

The objectives of the teachers of the department are to make the students sensitive towards social and political consciousness. The teaching method includes:

  • Classroom lectures following text and reference books.
  • Remedial classes for academically weak students specially during vacation.
  • Additional care and attention for deserving students.
  • Group discussions.
  • Seminar by eminent scholars and students on social and politically relevant issues.
  • Project work on current political topics.

Average Result: Satisfactory

Teachers Profile

Teacher Image

Dr. Sujata Mukherjee

Associate Professor, Department in charge

View Details
Teacher Image

Sanchita Datta

Associate Professor

View Details
Teacher Image

Sutripti De


View Details
Teacher Image

Dr. Minu Sinha Ratna

Associate Professor

View Details
Teacher Image

Dr.Oindrila Datta Gupta

Assistant Professor

View Details

Best Practices

Teaching Learning


Sl No Title Syllabus View
1 political Science Syllabus

Capacity Building

Academic Activities

Certificate Courses



Distinguished Alumna


Sl No Title Result View

Student Progression

Departmental Notices

Sl No Title Notice View





Contact Us